Stephen Smith's Blog

Musings on Machine Learning…

Speaking at the Upcoming LinuxFest NorthWest

leave a comment »


Introduction

LinuxFest Northwest is finally getting up and running again at the Bellingham Technical College on April 26-28, 2024. The last in-person event was held in 2019 which I attended and greatly enjoyed. Then the pandemic hit. The 2020 LinuxFest was held virtually and I participated by submitting a video of my intended presentation. Last year they were going to restart the in-person conference, but due to emergency renovations at the Bellingham Technical College, they had to cancel the event. Hopefully the Technical College buildings are all good and the conference is able to run successfully,

Bellingham is a great location for this show as it is halfway between Vancouver, BC and Seattle, WA, providing quite a large metropolitan area to draw attendees and presenters from.

I’ll be giving a presentation: An Introduction to the RISC-V Architecture at 11:00am on Saturday April 27 in room HC111.

Presentations

The description for my presentation is:

An introduction to the RISC-V Architecture and assembly language programming. Advantages and disadvantages of RISC-V, progress to date and support in the Linux kernel.

Last time my presentation was on ARM architecture and this time RISC-V. I think there is a lot of interest in RISC-V, especially as open source hardware is trying to become as established as open source software.

Besides my presentation, there are a large number of other great presentations. I’m looking forward to “Retro hardware preservation with the MiSTer FPGA Project” on Sunday morning. The quality of the talks is really high, and usually given by a main contributor to whichever project is being discussed.

Summary

I’m looking forward to LinuxFest NorthWest this April, and I hope to see a few of my readers at the show. It should be a fun event and nicely fits in with the release of my new book on RISC-V Assembly Language Programming.

Written by smist08

March 1, 2024 at 11:46 am

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.